My Samsung RH500 has been inexplicably unreliable from the very first day it shed its plastic wrapping.  Its sleek body and modern visage gave no sign of its temperamentalism as I slid it out OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA         of its Telus-splashed box; I was instantly entranced by its slick novelty and the way it put my old chunky Fisher Price-like mobile to shame. 

But I ended up sending it back to the manufacturer after only three weeks – the battery would die without any warning (we’re talking full bars to black screen here), texting was a total shot in the dark, and phone calls would take a good thirty seconds to go through after dialing and hitting “SEND”.

Still, I stuck with the replacement I received after that for a good year and a half.  I have to admit its sophistication held me back from hating it flat-out, despite various episodes of acute frustration.  I was never ready to fully believe I owned a shitty phone.  Unfortunately, my loyalty and naiveté could not stretch beyond this sad state of affairs:  OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA           

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My patience for this phone was literally hanging by a thread.  Kid myself I could no longer.  I needed a new phone – because of course, living without is just NOT an option!  So I marched down to the Telus outlet off Granville with the intention of playing up the 10-years’ loyalty card and winning a decent replacement.  I was sadly disapppointed – Telus would NOT give me any type of deal or discount on a replacement handset, even though I can’t make use of their service (ie give them money) without one.  So much for customer appreciation!

So my next move was to check out the selection at London Drugs.  Twas there that I found my new best mobile, vibrating pocket buddy:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The LG Banter.  Suitable name for a phone in my possession, n’est-ce pas?  At first I was turned off by the idea of no longer owning a flip phone, but I got over it fairly quickly.  I figure a full pull-out keyboard is a good exchange.  🙂

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Adapting to this new method of texting has been a bit precarious, but I feel like it’s worth the temporary discomfort.  The awesome selection of ring tones and wallpaper  adequately offsets the friction of change, and it certainly helps that it’s yet another step up the ladder of modern electronic beauty (the menus are brilliant!).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA         OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          

So far I’ve been very (maybe overly) impressed with this new buddy of mine, possibly because of its stark contrast to my previous fair-weather friend.  Imagine: all my texts go through to the desired recipient instantaneously, the battery life outlasts my own by a good three days, and efficient doesn’t even begin to describe the ease with which I make phone calls these days!  Who would’ve thought a phone would actually WORK? PLUS the first test of its camera was an MGMT concert at the Commodore, and it passed with colours that literally flew.  Recipients of my texts and calls, you now know the source of joy from which my messages abound!

