Of course, there’s something magical about lying under the starry night sky in any situation, but this is the first time I’ve done it in the SoCal desert.  Quite a change from the determinedly brisk Vancouver climate! I’ve been talking to friends on Skype, and they’ve talked about how great the snow is on Whistler right now… in the meantime I’m experiencing a slight epidermal shock as the sun beats down proudly upon the sand and mountains, flagged by wispy palms.  I can’t even remember what snow is like…

At the moment, however, the sun has retired and the air is pleasantly cool.  I’m stretched across the wicker loveseat on some remarkably soft cushions, and the idea of falling asleep out here is far more appealing than dragging myself indoors.   😉

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA         OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Camped out in this little cabana, I am at piece.  This is really what I needed from this trip – not the wild outlet mall sieges, not the excessive margarita consumption, not the Hollywood swimming pools, suntans, or sportscars; the simple star-strewn canopy and the serene ambience are without a doubt the prime sources of rejuvenation.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is beauty, peace, and comfort in a single location.  It inspired in me such contentedness that I’ve adopted this corner of our bungalow as my place of residence for the next week, regardless of whatever the other tenants might have to say about it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          

Maybe the rest of Palm Springs needs all the other stuff to find such contentedness.  Each unto his own.  I’m grateful once again, however, that I’ve come to know that I as a human being possess the capacity to experience such a sensation, and we’re all worth the effort to find it for ourselves.

