I had about 20 minutes or so between appointments today, and there was no way I was going to pass them indoors when the sun was smiling so warmly on our monster city.  I knew of the time gap ahead of time, and had the foresight OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA         to bring a book with me – but the amiable weather was not something I dared to expect.  Hence I was so jazzed when my somewhat gloomy group finished and I walked out to find the storm clouds evaporate in the sunshine!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          

My feet took me to Nelson Park, a little green space behind St. Paul’s Hospital on Thurlow.  It’s quite something to find that a park this populated can still give a person the space they need to breathe.  Perhaps en plein air the buzz of goings-on is amply accommodated, the natural contentment well-circulated, and the beehive tension aptly allayed (thank GOD!).  In any case, the little lush oasis in the concrete jungle effectively soothed my travails and got me through several pages of Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy.  🙂

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I soaked up some solitude and some whimsical sci-fi, occasionally looking up to watch passers-by, perpetually ecstatic dogs, and pigeons.  All of them seemed to have an air of purpose that was yet unable to intrude upon the serenity of their park visit.  I watched with raised eyebrows as one pigeon stalked another, nipping now and then at tail feathers and pebbles in turn.  So simple and still so extraordinary in the way the eensy weensy break can have such a positive impact.  Even better, I have no doubt that the beneficiaries of the sun and strolls will carry a refreshing optimism with them – maybe as part of a ripple effect?  One can hope!

Honestly, who can’t smile at a sight such as this?  That’s pure joy and liberty right there:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

 

 

