My parents threw me a belated birthday party the other night, and to mark my 21st year – coming-of-age in many traditions – they topped my birthday pie with a sparkler… in the shape of a STAR!!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA         OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Apple Pie was the ideal request for birthday dessert, and of course sparklers are the only practical sort of candle to stick in a flaky crust with layers of soft fruit underneath.  I had no idea that they’d find me a sparkler like this one though!  I’m so easily amused…   😉

It was quite extraordinary, the way the little star sparkled… If you’re familiar with sparklers (which I sure hope you are) you know that its a bit of a challenge to get them started – even more so if you’re trying to start a few in unison.  I had two other regular sparklers standing sentinel on the pie, and they were tough to synchronize.  It took forever for one of them to light!

But look at this beauty.  I outlined the star shape in red to make it a little clearer, but maybe that was unnecessary.  In any case, it was an incredible little show once the star was ignited.  The match touched the very tip of the star at the top, and actually split to either side of the star…  You can see in the photo how there are two nebulae going at once:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA         OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Watching the star shimmer and spit took me right back to those earlier birthdays. Cake and candle decorations at parties were such a big deal then.  Yet I’m still so fascinated by a good sparkler – clearly my maturity hasn’t quite kept up with the times.  Sometimes I wonder if it’s aging in reverse…. An odd Benjamin Button affair?

 

Here’s a couple of photos of the little dazzler after it retired:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It was a fittingly memorable way to mark the evening, I thought.  I’ll have to look around for more novelty sparklers – maybe they have some other crazy shapes now.  The star shape is probably the most appropriate I suppose.  The best news:  the pie was delicious and I regained eyesight only 30 seconds or so after the sparklers fizzled out.   🙂

