Thanks EVERYONE for all the beautiful birthday texts that flooded my inbox this morning!  The skippy “new message” jingle has never sounded so sweet.  :)  Thank you also for all the facebook and e-mail notes – I love reading every single one.

I awoke this morning, March 1st 2010, aware of three things: 

– the 2010 Games are over and but we’re all still smiling

– today I celebrate 2 months clean

– I’m officially 21 and the future is bright.

All of this confirmed, soon after, by the influx of texts I happily enjoyed from under the covers as the sunshine coaxed me into the day.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA         OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

What a fabulous way to begin: responding to warm greetings from my favourite people via text and phonecall – from the comfort of my cozy bed!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA         OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Wrapped up in blankets, my head so softly cradled amid pillows, I couldn’t help but grin.  It’s a nice feeling, to know friends and family thought of me so swiftly upon starting their day, and felt moved to let me know.  This is REALLY what makes birthdays worth celebrating – knowing (and having the knowledge affirmed) that one’s presence in the world is valued in unimaginable ways.  “Somewhere, someone loves you more than you’ll ever know.”  “Every morning, there’s somebody whose first thought is of you.”  I remember how hard it was for me to truly believe this of myself, and I’m so grateful for all the people who have helped me grow from then.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And HURRAY for cow-patterned pyjamas brought home from the UK!

