OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          

A day without a sudoku puzzle is a sad one in my world.  I think I’ve attempted – hopefully completed – at least one each day for the last three or so years.  What is it about this numerical riddle that captivates me so?  Why is it that the 3 x 3 grid speaks much more to me than boxes with arbitrary numbering, as it may appear to many others?  It’s not as though math and arithmetic were ever my strong suits.  And I’m certainly NOT a masochist – not that type of masochist, anyway.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA         OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Crosswords and I have never gotten along.  Our relationship has always been very limited.  We require quite a lot of company to coexist agreeably.  I can only work on a crossword for so long before I feel hostility bubbling to the surface and hear the clouds rolling overhead.  My tolerance is better if the crossword becomes a group activity, but such a situation rarely arises.  Crosswords simply baffle and frustrate bizarro-sudokume to no end, despite my love of words and language.  The little black boxes, so cunningly arranged, taunt me from the recycled newsprint on which they so smugly reside.

How is sudoku better, you ask?  I really can’t say.  Maybe it’s the way I never have to suffer the incessant nagging of an elusive word long after I leave the puzzle behind – a word that my vocabulary may never have collected, or that may have been conceived by the skin of the newspaper editor’s teeth as the deadline dropped.  The numbers 1 to 9, meanwhile, remain firmly established and well-governed in my mind. 

Whatever the case, I feel a certain loss if my morning latte is not accompanied by a good sudoku puzzle or two.  I think the brain stimulation kickstarts my cognitive function for the day… I dunno.  The good news for anyone trying to share the kitchen table with me is that I’ve reached the point where I can carry on perfectly attentive and coherent conversation as I mull over the numerical grids.  So I refute the argument that it’s an antisocial activity!

I’ll admit that THIS is going a little far though:

Sudoku2

Sudoku-printed toilet paper??!  I commend the move towards multipurpose household wares, but this is a bit much.  THIS is where the puzzles become antisocial.  I will NOT hole myself up in the john just to indulge in my sudoku lust.  No more will I use my hard work to clean up after myself in the manner suggested here!

Your thoughts?

I’m definitely keeping an eye out for the sudoku version of Will Shortz’s Wordplay documentary…

