Yeah, I work for Starbucks.  I create hand-crafted beverages for dozens – sometimes hundreds – of Vancouverites every day, come hell or Quatchi’s 2010 wrath.  I cater to the population’s need to consume caffeine, assert decisiveness and authority, flaunt status symbols, and converse frivolously for minimum wage.  As one customer put it, I subscribe to a multinational corporation that fosters and exploits the insecurities of its employees and customers.  Yeah sure.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA         OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The tr uth is, I LOVE rocking the coffee bar.  I think I’ll be a barista forevermore, although hopefully not always for Starbucks.  It’s an art with a beautiful science behind it… and it yields such great reward and satisfaction!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA         OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The steady hiss of the steamwand… The gentle bubbling of creamy froth…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA         OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA         OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Coffee grinds whisper hints of cocoa and pistachio, cumin and citrus… 

Tendrils of warm aroma fan out as crema pools delicately out of the humming press…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

What a luxurious way to start the morning!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

Who wouldn’t want to rise from tangled layers of heavy linen when there’s this sort of treat waiting, calling tantalizingly from the kitchen counter?

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA         OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

 

 

 

 OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA         OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Soooooooo yummy… Don’t let anyone ever tell you it’s not worth the effort.  One day I’ll treat myself to a course in latte art.  I love how they beautify the coffee at Blenz, Brazza, and Cafe Artigiano; it’s such a shame that Starbucks caters to more of a fast-food demand.  However, for my own pride and pleasure, I will one day learn to create magic as may be viewed on YouTube!

