“As you walk down the fairway of life you must smell the roses, for you only get to play one round.”    ~ Ben Hogan

Some days I definitely get annihilated on that fairway – it feels like the spectators and opponents ruthlessly beat me over the head, just for wearing my colours.  I suppose Hogan would say I’m still in a good place, since I can smell those roses even from the ground on which I lay crippled…  ?

Anyway, taking myself from that vision back to reality –  it was such a relief to soothe the aches of a difficult day with the decadent aromas of bath soaps!  There’s something so satisfying about the way certain smells can lift one’s mood instantaneously,  especially when accompanied by warm water and steam.  Here are today’s winners:

The Body Shop’s coconut bath gel and Live Clean’s pure vegan conditioner.  Washed away the grungey feeling of restlessness, for the most part.  The coconut is so rich, it’s like getting a tropical hug with no strings attached.  The lather is thick and silky, so it soaks in beautifully – such a comfort!  The best part is how I can walk around for hours after with a hint of coconut lingering in my senses.  The conditioner also has a great smell – like dew-speckled flowers in spring.  There’s also a sense of pride in using it because it’s so earth-friendly.  Sometimes organic and natural stuff seems liable to be grotty, grey, and gunky, reminiscent of clay and sludge, but one use of Live Clean instantly dispells that misconception.  I could almost feel the tension sliding off my hair.  Cleanse the cares away – it’s so corny, but it did the trick today!

Incidentally, I found this quote that  makes the whole thing even better:

“I love the smell of shampoo on a girl’s hair. You can walk past someone and be like, ‘Wow, you took a shower this morning, didn’t you? Because you smell lovely!’ “  ~ Jenson Ackles

I have a few friends who are serious Jenson fanatics, so I’m sure they’ll appreciate that.   😉

I’ve also fallen in love with this Pomegranate Mango handsoap from SoftSoap.  Not expensive, but incredibly luxurious:

(Sorry the photo’s a little off – still familiarizing myself with the camera)  I already wash my hands waaaay too frequently (germophobe, anyone?) but this makes the process so much more tempting.  Feeling clean + smelling sweet and delicious = warm happiness!!!  Such a simple way of self care and indulgence.  What would we do without our sense of smell?

